I Love Food, But I Love Me More!

Image

I Love Food, But I Love Me More!

There is a very popular saying that you should eat to live and not live to eat. That is so true! Personally, I love food. I love the sweet taste of chocolate and the hint of salt on a cracker. I especially love a little spice on a burrito and the crunch of a deep fried egg roll. I love food. I love the way the cheese melts on a burger on the grill. I love the lemon flavor in a pound cake and the tenderness of a good steak. I love food. I smile when I think about what I am about to eat. Food is definitely a happy treat. As much as I love food and all of the flavors that make my day, I love me more.

The food that I love makes me hate how I feel. I hate the way my stomach bubbles after I eat those bbq baked beans. I hate the way my head hurts after I eat those pork ribs. I hate how bloated I feel after I have had milk with my cake. I hate the guilt that I feel after I eat those cookies and pack on the pounds that I have worked so hard to get off. I hate the consequences of eating all of the foods I love. God knows, I love me more.

But do I love me enough? Do I love me enough to walk away from the cake? Do I love me enough to bake instead of fry? Do I love me enough to deny myself the second helping of the macaroni and cheese? Do I love me enough to substitute the cookies for fruit? Do I love me enough to drink more water and less sweet tea? God knows how much I love food, but I love me more.

Every day we wake up, we are faced with a challenge. We have to look in the mirror and ask ourselves, “Do I love me enough to make the right choices?” I desire to live a long life, do you? I desire to grow old and see my children’s children and their children too. I desire a healthy life where I can run and play and keep up with whatever life brings my way, do you? I desire the energy necessary to make it through my day, how about you? I realize that eating too much of the wrong foods is hurting me. I have to discipline myself in order to have a healthier life. I have to recognize that food is not my friend, but the right foods are a necessity to live. So I will eat to live and not live to eat and I hope you will too. And yes, I still love food, but I love me more!!

Be encouraged,

T Brown

